Now Playing at Life in Mordor: Dracula and Today’s Christian Nationalism

Because I am all about shameless self-promotion, here is a post that I wrote at Life in Mordor, the blog of Mike F where I was a regular guest contributor. That blog has long since gone dormant, but I still like to throw them a bone every so often just to let them know that I’m still out there.

In this post I look at how much of the Christian nationalism of the far right that drives our present historical/cultural moment is connected to the Gothic horror literature that emerged from 1890’s Great Britain, and especially Bram Stoker’s Dracula. I look at the conspiracies that drive that story, and how they connect to the conspiracy theories that drive today’s far right, and how the social/cultural anxieties of 1890’s Great Britain that inform the character and story of Dracula also inform the culture wars waged by today’s American conservatives.

Read: Dracula Is A Mirror to Today’s Christian Nationalism

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.