It’s About Time…

Last week one of the top congressional Republicans launched an investigation into several well-known TV evangelists, including Joyce Meyer, Benny Hinn (and his brand new Gulfstream IV too), and even our very own Creflo Dollar and Bishop Eddie Long.

Here is a copy of the letter that Iowa senator Charles Grassley sent to Joyce Meyer.  Go to the last page and see some of the items that Joyce Meyer is being asked to account for.  Jeez-loueez, that $23,000 marble-topped commode could sure buy a lot of textbooks and ramen!!!!!

Well, Creflo Dollar and Bishop Eddie Long ain’t too happy about this.  Creflo has gone to meet with the lawyers and they may just come back with the age-old defense that Grassley’s request infringes upon their precious First Amendment religious liberties.

Man, please.

I would love to vent some more about this, especially as a college student with rather limited financial resources.  (Boy, wouldn’t it be nice to come to class in a brand new Gulfstream IV!!!!!  Mr. Hinn, could you hook me up?)  But part of my role as a college student involves extensive amounts of classwork, papers, projects, etc. so I have to keep it short.  So in lieu of my own comments, I will send you to others who have written more extensively about all this.

Here is Bill Kinnon’s take on the situation.

And here is Dan Edelen’s take.  I appreciate the references to Mr. Creosote in this one.  For some of these televangelists, I think this is perfectly fitting.

On an unrelated note, I think Auburn is going to win this week.  Georgia has more to lose.