Aloysius’s Take on New Mexico State

Our Executive Director of Sports Information here at Everyone's Entitled to Joe's Opinion: Smarter than the average bear

Today I am going to let Aloysius, our Executive Director of Sports Information here at Everyone’s Entitled to Joe’s Opinion, weigh in with his thoughts on this week’s Georgia game.  Take it away, Aloysius.

OK, so once again Joe wants me to write about the Georgia game this week.  He goes away to Athens and won’t take me with him.  Something about not letting teddy bears into the stadium at Georgia.  Yeah right.  They don’t let alcohol into the stadium either, but that doesn’t stop fans from bringing it in.  If he wanted to bring me, he’d have found a way to get me in there.  And what’s more, this time he stays gone for the entire weekend.  What’s up with that?  Maybe I’ll start a rumor about him seeing some chick over in Athens.  We’ll see how well that plays over at his church.

College Square in downtown Athens

By the way Joe, if you’re wondering where all the honey went, it’s all in my tummy.  Burp.

It’s been a while since I did one of these.  I thought Joe was going to let me do this every week.  Guess the bit about eating Scott Howard alive kinda scared him off from that.  Tough.  He can deal.  And Scott Howard can deal too.  What a doofus.  I don’t care what he thinks.

The tailgating scene on the Myers quad. A little light this week.

So I was all alone here in the Everyone’s Entitled to Joe’s Opinion compound for the whole weekend, and I didn’t have a TV to watch the game because Joe’s too cheap to spring for a widescreen plasma TV.  But I sure as hell wasn’t going to sit there and listen to that doofus Scott Howard for four hours, so I hacked into ESPN.com and watched the game online.  They had it blacked out here in Atlanta, but I hacked in through Kamchatka, Siberia, and watched it that way.  Heh heh heh.  What can I say?  I’m smarter than the average bear.

One thing about New Mexico State: They sure travel well.

I believe Joe is going to post some pictures here to give you an idea of what it was like over in Athens this weekend.  These better be good.

Okay, so about the game.  Isaiah Crowell, Carlton Thomas, and Ken Malcome all decided to get their ganja on.  Dude!  In the middle of football season?  What were they thinking?  Offer a toke and a brownie to the next person who attempts to tackle them?  (“Come on, Gator man, it’s all good!”)

The old-school cheerleaders: Always a hit at homecoming

So anyway, they all went for their drug test, and their urine specimens blew up the lab.  So they all had to sit out this week.  Mark Richt found a couple of walk-ons to play running back, Brandon Harton and Kyle Karempolis.  Harton rushed for 98 yards on 15 carries and Karempolis rushed for 63 yards on 13 carries.  This was one of the worst defenses in all of Division 1-A; Richt could have pulled a Georgette to play running back and she would have rushed for 98 yards against this defense.

The Redcoats performing their halftime show

Harton did make it interesting though; on Georgia’s first possession he got loose and then fumbled into the end zone and New Mexico State recovered for a touchback.  But he redeemed himself in the second quarter; he scored the game’s second touchdown and put Georgia up 14-3.  That second quarter was a laugher; Georgia scored 42 points in one quarter.  How do you do that?  (By the way, that is the second most points ever scored in a single quarter according to NCAA records; the most is 49.)

Hairy Dawg conducts the Redcoats during the postgame concert

If anything, this was a game to inspire confidence in the nether regions of Georgia’s depth chart.  That was done this week.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m heading up to Penn State to dispense some ursine justice to Joe Paterno and all those crazies up there.  Having sex with boys in the showers?  So not cool.

