Quick Hit: The NFL Labor Dispute

Normally, my default position in professional sports labor disputes that involve people who make more money in one hour than I will see in my entire life and are whining because they can’t figure out how to equitably divide all that money is “I don’t care.”

But in this case, I have to go with the players.

Why?

Think of it like this:  Suppose you were a waiter at Nava or Paul’s or whatever your nightspot of choice happens to be.  Now, suppose that the owner told you he was going to take 10 percent of your tips every night.  “Don’t worry,” he says, “we’re going to invest this money in the restaurant.  We’re going to make big improvements here:  a bubble wall, marble countertops at the bar, etc.  More people are going to want to come here, and that means more money for you out of all this.”

How would you feel about that?  Not very good, I take it.  Well, that is more or less what the owners are trying to do to the players in this labor dispute.  Not cool.

On top of that, the owners are screaming about how they are losing money and they need the additional cash flow.  The players have responded by asking the owners to open their books and let them see where the money is going.  A reasonable request:  if I were being asked to give up part of my salary, I would want to know how the money will be spent.  Yet the owners have refused.

Not cool.

