The Monday Melange 04.04.11: MARTA Crazies, Bill Cosby, Jim Tressel, Gordon Gee

–It’s been a long time since we’ve seen or heard from “Steve”, our Executive Director of Travel and Transportation here at Everyone’s Entitled to Joe’s Opinion.

I tried to tell him that drinking whiskey while riding a lawn mower down the street doesn’t play very well here in the ATL, but he wouldn’t listen to me.  He just took off one day, and I have not seen or heard from him since.  I don’t know what happened to him, and I’m not sure I want to know.

For those of you who missed it, here is the video of one of “Steve’s” finest moments:

–While we’re looking at videos, allow me to direct your attention to one of my favorite comedians of all time:  Bill Cosby.  Here is a routine he did a while back about the subway system in New York:

Now:  Think that kind of thing doesn’t happen here in the ATL?  Take a gander at this:

–Jim Tressel, the Ohio State football coach, has now sealed his place as the epitomal Lying Bastard Coach.  Last year, he received an email about some of his players who had obtained illegal benefits from a local tattoo parlor.  He said he would look into it.  He never did.

Ohio State president Gordon Gee (you remember him, don’t you?  He’s the one who abolished Vanderbilt’s athletic department) showed just how seriously he takes academics at his new school:  He gave Tressel a slap-on-the-wrist two game suspension, and made a wisecrack about “I hope he doesn’t dismiss me.”

Tressel has since upped his suspension to five games.  Sorry, dude.  Nice try.  Not enough.

