A Study in Contrasts: Eugene Peterson and Perry Noble

I am not at all afraid of a little shameless self-promotion.  So I would like to call your attention to a post that I just put up over at Life in Mordor, the blog of Mike Frizzell where I have the opportunity to appear regularly as a guest contributor.

The post is entitled “Another Study in Contrasts:  Eugene Peterson and Perry Noble“.  In it, I respond viscerally to a recent article by Perry Noble in which he speaks out in defense of pastoral practices which play to the worst impulses of contemporary evangelicalism.  I contrast it to Eugene Peterson’s approach to pastoral ministry as laid out in his book The Jesus Way, which is based on the idea–revolutionary in our present context of contemporary evangelicalism–that there is actually a right way and a wrong way to follow Jesus.

If you wish to see more items that I have written over at Life in Mordor, then look under “The Fellowship” at the top of the right sidebar.  When you find my name, click on it and it will bring up a list of everything that I have written there.

By the way:  I am one of three contributors over at Life in Mordor, but I am not certain that Mike F. intends to cap the number of contributors at three.  If some of you are interested in joining that blog as guest contributors, then by all means drop him a line.  You can find more details about this under the “Blog Here” tab.  If you have additional questions, Mike F’s contact information is listed under the “Contact” tab.

