Quick Hit: Can You Be Gay and Still Be Christian?

It seems that a lot of evangelicals ask this question nowadays.  And it is a good question, and one that we need to be asking.

But there are other questions which we need to be asking as well.  Questions like:  Can you be angry and still be a Christian?  Can you be jealous and still be a Christian?  Can you be greedy and still be a Christian?  Can you be gluttonous and still be a Christian?  Can you be dishonest and still be a Christian?

I think it is unfortunate that these other questions don’t get quite the same degree of face time within evangelical Protestant-dom as the question of being gay and being Christian.

2 thoughts on “Quick Hit: Can You Be Gay and Still Be Christian?

  1. I think too many Christians view sin as hierarchical: my sin is not as bad as someone else’s sin. It’s amazing how many “Christians” think they can hate another group of people and still be Christian while someone who is gay cannot be.

    Good subject. Thanks for raising it.

    Charlie

  2. Yeah, I think those questions each boil down to “can I sin and still be a Christian.”

    The more poignant question is do I identify myself with Christ or with my sexuality (or race, or denomination, or nationality, etc…)?

    Hopefully a Christian will identify solely with Christ, but EVERYONE should struggle with this as they search for truth. Discovering our identity, who we are, and our subsequent purpose is life’s journey.

Comments are closed.