Quick Hit: Joel Osteen

For those of you who have been living under a rock the last couple of weeks, let me bring you up to date on this story:  Joel Osteen’s wife is in court right now because she got into it with a flight attendant over a dirty seat.

I’ll let you read what Jared Wilson has to say about this.

Now I’ll let you read what Michael Spencer has to say.

If there are any of you out there who still believe that what Joel Osteen is preaching and representing has any connection whatsoever to Jesus Christ, I hope this disabuses you of that notion permanently and in spectacular fashion.

Come on, people.

I know I’m a guy.  I know Joel Osteen is very appealing to those of you who are of the opposite sex, and I know there is nothing I can say about him and no way I can say it that will not make me sound like the embittered guy over in the corner who’s eating sour grapes because he didn’t get a date to the prom.

And I don’t care.  I’m saying it anyway.  Take a look at what this guy is selling you, and compare it to everything that Jesus Christ is all about.  I think you’ll find that there is no comparison.  If you believe Joel Osteen, then as Christians we have the favor of God which makes us a privileged people, which means we get to take a pass on loving our neighbor, serving our neighbor, and other such things.  We have the favor of God, so they’re the ones who should be serving us and looking up to us.  But then you look at the Gospels and see how Jesus washed the feet of his disciples and then made it clear that he expected them to do as he was doing.  See how Jesus associated himself with the lowest, the most despised and unworthy people of his day.  I think you’ll find that Osteen is just blowing smoke in your face.  If, after a serious reading of the Gospels, you can listen to the bullshit that Osteen is trying to sell you and still keep a straight face, then I commend you wholeheartedly; you have my undying respect and admiration.

Come on, people.

