Michael Spencer on the Real Presence

Sorry that I haven’t been able to put anything substantive up here in a while.  I’ve been busy with school and work lately–you know the drill by now.  But I would like to share a little something that I found over at Michael Spencer’s blog this week.

Michael Spencer writes about the real presence of Christ in the world.  This is a key point of Christian doctrine–the idea that in some form or fashion, Christ is with us here in the world.  Christians of different stripes have different ways of formulating this–those of a sacramental bent say that Christ is present in the elements of the Eucharist; those of a Pentecostal/charismatic bent will talk about how the Spirit showed up during an anointed time of worship; while those of a Calvinistic bent will say that God is present where believers are gathered to hear the teaching of the Word.  This is all well and good, but when people of one particular bent say that Christ is absent from other churches, or not as present as He is in their own, that is a problem.

Read Michael Spencer’s post, and I will try to get something more substantive of my own up here soon.  I promise.

